Skip to Main Content
Banner Image
WNHS Internet |   WNHS Hub |  HealthPoint |   WA Health Library Sites
Contact Us!

EndNote: Getting Started

A guide to using EndNote X9 & X8 with some help for X7 & X6

Important!

EndNote 20.1 has been rolled out to all Windows 10 work PCs - see below for What's new in EndNote 20.1. Endnote X9.3 is still available on all Windows 7 PCs. If using Windows 7, please ignore the prompt to update when you open up EndNote at work.  

What's new in EndNote 20?

How can EndNote help?

     

EndNote is a bibliographic software program by Clarivate Analytics that allows you to:

 

  • Create a database or 'library' of references.
  • Search and download references from electronic databases and library catalogues.
  • Store downloaded PDFs with their relevant references.
  • Generate bibliographies in specific styles with the click of a button.
  • Share your library or group of references with your research colleagues.

First Steps...

Creating an EndNote library

EndNote allows you to create many separate 'libraries'. However, it is highly recommended that you work with only one library and use the groups function to organise your references.

  • Double click on the EndNote icon (at work go to the Start menu > Health > EndNote > EndNote Program).
  • Do not integrate with EndNote Web at this time and click Finish.
  • Click on Create a new Library.
  • A dialogue box will open with My EndNote Library.enl as the name of the new library.

                                        

  • Choose the folder you wish to save your library (to your USB or the file path of your EndNote program > Examples folder if at home). To avoid corrupting your EndNote library do NOT save your library on cloud syncing folders (eg DropBox, OneDrive etc).
  • Type a name for your library in the File name box > click Save.
  • A new library window will appear.

                                  
 

  • The Panel on the right (red frame) displays the highlighted reference (blue frame) formatted in the selected reference or output style (green frame).  You can change the display of this panel by clicking on the Layout button (red frame bottom right)
  • The Groups pane on the left allows you to organise your references into subject groups.
  • You are now ready to add references to your personal library!

 

Moving the preview panel

In EndNote X9 the new library will open with the preview panel on the right hand side.

 

To move this panel to the bottom of the window click on the Layout arrow (bottom right Windows PC, top right Mac) & select Bottom (or Bottom Split to have the Reference/Preview & PDF displayed side by side on the bottom of the window).

                

How to get EndNote - WNHS Staff only

EndNote in WA Health

The WA Health Libraries Network (WAHLiN) has purchased a WA Health licence for EndNote and EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web). 

EndNote 20.1 has been rolled out to all Windows 10 work PCs. EndNote X9.3 is still available on all Windows 7 work PCs.

If EndNote is not currently available on your WNHS work computer log a job with Health Support Services.  

 

Download EndNote 20 now on your home computer from the appropriate tab above.

Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote X20 to Find Full Text. 

EndNote X9.3 and 20 are compatible across platforms you can create your library on a MAC, save it as a compressed library on a USB then open it on a PC (and vice-versa).  

EndNote X9.3 and 20 are NOT backwards compatible with EndNote X9.2 and earlier versions so if you use your libraries at work and at home and have EndNote X9.2 or older at home, this will be a problem. You will need to upgrade older versions of EndNote to continue using your library in multiple locations. See here for further details.

 

WNHS staff download of EndNote 20 @home for Windows PC 

  1. EndNote 20 will only run on Windows 10, so if you have Windows 7 and don't wish to upgrade, please contact the library for EndNote X9.3 files. Minimum requirement for Word is 2010. For further details see EndNote compatibility requirements.
  2. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your PC. Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  3. Click on Windows PC Download for EndNote 20  fill-in all boxes > click Submit to begin the download.
  4. Right click the zipped file > Extract both the .msi and license.dat files and save onto the desktop or into the same folder.
  5. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a cite-while-you-write toolbar into Word.
  6. Click on the .msi file.
  7. Follow the installation prompts using the default options UNTIL Select Install Type > choose Custom installation option.
  8. Continue accepting default options UNTIL Select Features.
  9. Click on red crosses next to Additional connections  Additional Filters   Additional Styles > select 'Entire feature will be installed on local hard drive' for each one.
  10. After this continue selecting the default options until the software install is completed. You can then delete both files from your desktop.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote 20 to Find Full Text .
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted.

WNHS staff download of EndNote 20 @home for Macs 

  1. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your Mac Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  2. Ensure you have the most recent patches and updates installed for your version of Word.
  3. Check compatibility requirements - must have macOS 10.14 or later and Word for macOS 2016 or later
  4. It is advisable to use the Firefox browser to install EndNote on a Mac and when exporting references from a database into EndNote.
  5. Click on Mac Download for EndNote 20 and complete the form to sign the licence agreement.
  6. Once you fill-in all boxes & click Submit the software will automatically begin to download creating a zipped file.
  7. Open the file. You will see a .dmg file & instruction PDF.
  8. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a Cite-While-You-Write toolbar into Word.
  9. Click on the .dmg file and a window will open with the .dmg file on one side & Applications folder on the other.
  10. Drag the .dmg to the Applications folder to install.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote 20 to Find Full Text .
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted. 
  13. Check the CWYW toolbar in Word: Go to EndNote tab in Word > Preferences > Application > make sure EndNote (not EndNote Online) is showing

 

MacOS Critical Issues

See the following links for issues relating to different Mac Operating Systems

macOS 10.14 Mojave

macOS 10.15 Catalina

macOS 11 Big Sur


When using a Mac, always use the Firefox web browser from Mozilla.
If you are trying to export references to EndNote on a Mac, the only reliable way to do this is by using Firefox.

Having trouble using Cite While You Write (CWYW) with Macs and Microsoft Word 2016 check the troubleshooting guide

Information for MOJAVE users
There is an issue with the X9 Word add-in and Mojave, resulting in problems with CiteWhileYouWrite. More details and a fix are available via this link.

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote is the desktop version. EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) is the online version.

EndNote Online complements your EndNote desktop library by enabling you to:

  • Work collaboratively and share your EndNote Library.
  • Access your EndNote library from multiple locations without making multiple copies of your library.

Find out more about EndNote Online!

Note: You must create a new online account for EndNote X9 even if you have an existing web account with a previous version of EndNote.