Skip to main content
Banner Image
WNHS Internet |   WNHS Hub |  HealthPoint |   WA Health Library Sites
Contact Us!

EndNote: 1. Cite While You Write (CWYW)

A guide to using EndNote X9 & X8 with some help for X7 & X6

EndNote and Cite While You Write (CWYW)

Inserting citations in Word

EndNote's Cite While You Write (CWYW) function enables you to insert in-text citations in a Word document while simultaneously creating a bibliography for that document:

  • Open your EndNote library and your Word document.
  • Both PC  & Mac users should see an EndNote tab in the Word ribbon. 

                                               

                                                                                                

  • If there is no EndNote tab in the Word ribbon go to the CWYW FAQ
  • Place your cursor where you want to insert the citation in your Word document.
  • Click on the Go to EndNote and highlight the reference you want to insert.
  • Go back to your document and click on the  Insert Citation arrow   
  • Click Insert Selected Citation(s)
  • Your document will now have an in-text citation and corresponding entry in the bibliography at the end in the chosen reference style.
  • To change the reference or output style see the Formatting tab under the Managing Your Bibliography box.  

  Mac users: There are known compatibility problems with Cite While You Write & Word 2016 for Macs. See these Recommendations 

Finding citations in Word

The Find Citation function in Word allows you to insert a citation with limited editing.  remove

  • Place your cursor where you want to insert the citation in the document.
  • Click on the Insert Citation icon  
  • A search box will appear. os

                                          

  • Type the author surname or keyword in the search box and click Find
  • Highlight the required reference from the list of results.
  • Select your preferred option from the drop down list at InsertInsert - (Singh, 2009) ; Insert & Display as Author (Year) - Singh (2009) ; Insert & Exclude Author ; Insert and Exclude Year ;Insert in Bibliography Only. 

Editing in-text citations

Each time you insert a citation via EndNote, a piece of code integrates it with Word. It is therefore important to make any changes to the inserted citation (e.g. adding page numbers) via EndNote, otherwise they will disappear when you close the document.

  • Highlight the citation you want to edit.
  • Click on the Edit Citation icon  
  • A dialogue box will open.

                                      

  • To remove the author or date choose an option from the Formatting drop down menu: Display as: Author (Year) ; Exclude Author; Exclude Year; Show Only in Bibliography
  • Use the Suffix box to add page numbers. Include any punctuation e.g. a comma followed by a space as shown.
  • Use the Prefix box to add information at the beginning of the citation and leave a space at the end e.g. Brown as quoted in .
  • To remove a citation go to Edit Reference > Remove Citation. 
  • To add another reference to the same in-text citation go to Edit Reference > Insert Citation. A dialogue box will appear. Type the author's surname in the search box & click Find.
  • Click OK to implement changes.  
Loading ...

More...

Removing field codes

CWYW involves the use of field codes to link your EndNote library & Word document. When submitting a paper for publication you may be required to remove this code:

  • Open your formatted Word document
  • Open EndNote tab >  Convert Citations and Bibliography arrow > Convert to Plain Text > Yes
  • The new document will appear with no field codes. Save with a new file name. Your original document will retain the field codes & can be used with EndNote.

Downloading referencing output styles

If the required reference style is not available in EndNote's output styles you will need to download it from the EndNote styles webpage :

  • Click on Download for the required style > Open
  • The style file will open in EndNote.
  • In EndNote go to File > Save As > remove the word copy > Save.
  • Click the second small black cross to close OR File > Close style.

To locate your downloaded style:

  • EndNote > Style drop down menu
  • If not there click on Select Another Style > Choose a style

MAC users  Click on your required style and locate it in your "Downloads". Then drag and drop it into your Styles folder at HD\Applications\EndNoteX8\Styles.

If you experience problems when trying to save your edited style see the EndNote FAQProblems saving styles 

Note: If you are having problems with existing styles in EndNote you may need to update these files. Simply follow the directions above for the problem style files - removing the word 'copy' will ensure that the updated file overwrites the older version.

Combining separate chapters into one Word document

The easiest way to work with EndNote and large documents such as theses is to keep each chapter as a separate Word document and only combine them at the end.

To combine separate chapters:

1. Make and save a copy of each chapter e.g. chapter1_copy.doc; chapter2_copy.doc etc. so that the originals remain unchanged.

2. Work with the copies and unformat citations:

  • Open each chapter and from the EndNote toolbar in Word select   Convert Citations & Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations).
  • This will remove the bibliography at the end of each chapter & change the in-text citations to their unformatted form e.g.  {Singh, 2009#345}.
  • Save these changes.

3. Combine the chapters:

  • Open chapter1_copy.doc. Then open chapter2_copy.doc and select the whole document (Ctrl+A). Copy and paste it at the end of chapter1_copy.doc.
  • Continue copying & pasting each chapter at the end of chapter1_copy.doc until the whole thesis is in one document.
  • Rename chapter1_copy.doc as thesis_master.doc. This is now the master copy and any subsequent changes should be made to this document.
  • Save this document.

4. Format citations in the thesis:

  • Open thesis_master.doc.
  • From the EndNote toolbar in Word select the  Instant Formatting is OFF > Turn Instant Formatting On   
  • Click  Update Citations & Bibliography.
  • EndNote will format all the references in your document to create a single bibliography at the end.
  • Save the changes.
Loading ...

EndNote CWYW Video

Video length: 20 minutes 25 seconds