LibGuides: EndNote: 2. Editing output styles

Output (Referencing) Styles

Editing a referencing output style

Not all EndNote styles will be correctly configured to meet your publishing requirements - it may be necessary for you to edit a style:

Open EndNote
Go to Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
Select the style you want to edit. You may need to add a style to EndNote (see the Downloading output styles into EndNote box to the left).
Click Edit. The style window opens.

To change how in-text citations appear:

1. Left menu > Citations > choose the aspect you want to change

Example: When using EndNote's APA 6th output style the author's initials will appear in in-text citations for those authors with the same surname but different initials. To prevent this from happening:

Open the style window as outlined above.
Left menu > Citations > Author Name > untick Use initials only for primary authors with the same name

Then go Citations > Ambiguous Citations > untick Include the author initials or full name in citation.
Close the style window (second X) > Yes to save changes. This will save as APA 6th copy leaving the original style unchanged.
Go to Format Bibliography icon and select APA 6th copy.
This should remove author initials from your in-text citations.
If you experience problems when trying to save your edited style see the EndNote FAQ: Problems saving styles

To change how citations appear in your bibliography:

1. Open the style window as outlined above. Left menu > Bibliography > Templates. View the Bibliography template in the main window.

To alter the format - Highlight the text & use Formatting buttons above the In-Text Citations window
To alter punctuation - type or delete punctuation as required.

As well as the above aspects, there are special characters or 'fields' with which EndNote controls how records appear in the bibliography. Place your cursor where you want the character in the template. Go to Insert Field on the right and select the appropriate character:

Singular/plural (^ caret symbol) - used if there is different text for singular/plural forms e.g. (Ed.)^(Eds.)
Link adjecent text (° degree symbol) - a non-breaking space used to link adjacent text to a field so text doesn't appear if the field is empty.
Forced separation (| pipe symbol)- used to separate punctuation from adjacent fields. e.g. you might want a full stop at the end no matter what fields are empty.
Field names as literal text (`back apostrophe symbol)- used if you want text in your records that has already been used as a field name e.g. if you want the word 'year' as well as the field year.
To remove a field - Highlight > click Delete on your keyboard.
To substitute fields select Bibliography > Field Substitutions and tick the appropriate boxes e.g. the URL field can be inserted for records without a DOI.

2. Don't forget to save your changes as a copy. Test your changes in a test Word document.

3. If you experience problems when trying to save your edited style see the EndNote FAQ: Problems saving styles

Please come to the Medical Library with your EndNote library & document for further help or contact us by phone / email (see Contact Us on left).

Resolving incorrect capitalisation

You might find that although you have entered or imported the journal title correctly in a reference in your EndNote library, it appears differently (e.g. not correctly capitalised) in the document bibliography.This is a result of the journals term list of the reference style you are using. Here are a couple of ways to resolve this problem.

1. Using a reference style that doesn't require journal abbreviations (e.g. APA 6th):

Click on Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
Highlight the style you are using
Click Edit.
When the edit window opens click on Jounal Names on the left hand side.

The above screen will appear.
Select Don't Replace - EndNote will ignore the journals term list & use whatever appears in the journal field of the references.
Close the window (the second x) and save as a copy. You will need to select this copy of the style. In EndNote use the Style drop down menu. If it does not appear click Select Another Style > and choose your style.

Note: You need to check the formatting of the journal title of all imported references since they will now be displayed in the bibliography exactly as they appear in your EndNote library.

2. Using a reference style that requires journal abbreviations (e.g. Vancouver):

Delete the existing journals term list.
Import the Medical journals list.
See Vancouver and Term Lists for instructions.

Downloading output styles

If the required reference style is not available in EndNote's output styles you will need to download it from the EndNote styles webpage :

Click on Download for the required style > Open
The style file will open in EndNote.
In EndNote go to File > Save As > remove the word copy > Save.
Click the second small black cross to close OR File > Close style.

To locate your downloaded style:

EndNote > Style drop down menu
If not there click on Select Another Style > scroll down & highlight required style > Choose.

MAC users – Click on your required style and locate it in your "Downloads". Then drag an drop it into your Styles folder at HD\Applications\EndNoteX8\Styles.

If you experience problems when trying to save your edited style see the EndNote FAQ: Problems saving styles

Note: If you are having problems with existing styles in EndNote you may need to update these files. Simply follow the directions above for the problem style files - removing the word 'copy' will ensure that the updated file overwrites the older version.

Vancouver KEMH

Vancouver KEMH output style for KEMH guideline referencing contains two new referencing types: Pharmacy for citing online drug information resources in KEMH guidelienes; Guideline for citing online guidelines. If you are interested in this altered style see the Vancouver KEMH Style tab on the Referencing style guides page.