Skip to main content
Banner Image
WNHS Internet |   WNHS Hub |  HealthPoint |   WA Health Library Sites
Contact Us!

EndNote: 2. Direct Export from databases

A guide to using EndNote X9 & X8 with some help for X7 & X6

Tips

If you have a Mac use Firefox (free download) to export or import references to EndNote.

Safari, the default Mac browser, requires extensive setting -up to work seamlessly with EndNote. Google Chrome may also require some adjustments.

 

Direct Export using Firefox

Note: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.

Adding references directly from databases

Direct export of references from databases

Most databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference into your EndNote library. The steps and terminology may differ slightly. Here is a general outline of the basic steps required by most databases:

  1. Select the references you want to export using the tick boxesAdd to Folder or Mark Records option.
  2. Look for a way to export your selected references:  Export, Export to reference manager, Direct Export, Output or sometimes even Save Citation.
  3. You may need to choose an output method for EndNote or a RIS format.
  4. Then Save, Export, Download or Open.
  5. EndNote will open (you may need to select your library) and the references will appear in the temporary window. 

 Mac users: With Safari the exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock. 

Note: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.

 To learn how to import references from databases without direct export options see

Importing text files using filters.                                                                                                                       o

 

Note: If you are experiencing problems with the Direct Export option from databases see the Problems tab above.

 

Ovid (MEDLINE, Embase, Emcare, JBI, PsycINFO)

                           

                                             

 

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
  • Click on Export and a dialogue box will appear.

 

                                     

 

  • Choose Export To EndNote from the drop-down menu.
  • Choose the reference format (e.g. Complete Reference).
  • Click on Export Citation(s).
  • EndNote will open and the references will appear in the temporary window.                        

 

Note: If using Google Chrome the exported citations will first appear at the bottom left corner of the page.

                                

  • Click on the download to Open.
  • If  it disappears when you click open go to Customize icon (top right)     > Downloads
  • Then Find the correct download > click Show in folder
  • A dialogue box will open with the download highlighted.

                       

  • Double click on the download > Recommended Program EndNote X9 > Always use the selected program... > OK

 

  • Emcare & JBI downloads will then open 'Choose an Import Filter' box > Ovid Nursing Database (OvidSP) >Choose

                         

                       

 Mac users: With Safari the exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.                    

  Note: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.   

PubMed

 

             

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
  • Click on the arrow at Send to
  • Choose Citation manager
  • Click Create File
  • EndNote will open and the references will appear in the temporary window.
  • If using Google Chrome the download will appear at the bottom left corner > click to open in EndNote.

                                                     

 

Note:

  • Direct export from PubMed will not work if you use IE8 and Windows XP - you need Windows 7 OR Google Chrome.
  • With Macs and Firefox you might be prompted to Open or Save the file - choose Open > Browse.
  • Highlight the EndNote icon > OK > OK .
  • Endnote will open and Choose an Import Filter box will appear.

                                                           

  • Scroll down and highlight PubMed (NLM) > Choose.
  • The references will appear in the EndNote temporary window.                  

 Mac users: With Safari the exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock. 

Note: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.

ScienceDirect

 

                                        

 

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
  • Click Export (top of results).
  • A dialogue box will drop down.
  • RIS export file for EndNote is the default.
  • Click Export.
  • If using IE8 at KEMH a dialogue box will appear.

 

                                    

  • Click Open and the references will appear in the temporary window in EndNote.

 

  • If using Google Chrome the download will appear at the bottom left corner > click to open in EndNote.   

                                                                    

 

 Mac users: With Safari the exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock. 

Note: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.

1.  Direct export of Google Scholar reference with  (via Library website) - one reference at a time.

                      

  • Search Google Scholar
  • Click on under the reference (citation) you want to export. A Cite box will open.

                                  

 

  • Click  EndNote > reference will appear in the temporary Imported References view in EndNote
  • If using IE11 at KEMH a dialogue box will open at the bottom of the browser window.                       
  • Choose Open and the references will appear in the temporary window in EndNote.​

 

 Mac users: With Safari the exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock. 

NOTE: If you minimize your library before you try to export from FireFox it will not work. You need to leave the library open and not minimized for it to directly import into the open library.

NOTE: Direct Export from Google Scholar is limited to the citation only - no abstract or URL / DOI links. You can try clicking on the Find it@WNHS link or the article title, which will take you to the database / online journal to see if that export function includes the abstract & links.


2. Direct export of multiple references from Google Scholar accessed from the Internet  - No 

This requires you to create a Google Account which you cannot do using the Google Scholar link on the Library website.

  • Access Google Scholar via the Internet > create a free Google account and Sign in
  • Conduct a search > save citations to My library by clicking the star icon on the required citations
  • click My library to see saved citations

                                

 

  • In My library tick the references you want to export to EndNote
  • Click Export > EndNote

                               

  • The references will appear in the temporary Imported References view in EndNote

NOTE: Direct Export from Google Scholar is limited to the citation only - no abstract or URL / DOI links. 

                 

Problems with Direct Export

EndNote uses filters to pull records from databases into EndNote. If you experience problems with transferring records from databases you need to update these filters.

PubMed (requires Chrome or IE11 - will not work with IE8)

MEDLINE

Embase

PsycINFO

  • Click on the filter link (or Download if on the EndNote page) > Open
  • The file will open in EndNote.
  • In EndNote go to  > File > 'Save As' > remove the word copy  > save
  • The new filter will then overwrite the outdated file in EndNote.  
  • Close the filter file by clicking the small cross OR go to File > Close File
  • On WA Health PCs the new filter will be saved in the My Documents section of the directory and EndNote will make use of them from there: 


    \hdwa.health.wa.gov.au\users\Home-###\he#####\EndNote\Filters

  • If you are installing the new files on a home PC or Mac, you can copy them directly into the appropriate EndNote program folder (for filters).

 MAC usersSelect your required filter, control-click and choose Save Linked File to "Downloads"The filter will now appear in your "Downloads" drag the filter file into your Filters folder. Located HD\Applications\EndNote\Filters

 

Loading ...