Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

EndNote: Getting Started

A guide to using EndNote 20

Important!

EndNote 21.4 has been rolled out to all Windows 10 work PCs - see below for What's new in EndNote 21.4. Endnote X9.3 is still available on all Windows 7 PCs. If using Windows 7, please ignore the prompt to update when you open up EndNote at work.  

What's new in EndNote 21?

Watch this video to see what's new in EndNote 21

How can EndNote help?

     

EndNote is a bibliographic software program by Clarivate Analytics that allows you to:

 

  • Create a database or 'library' of references.
  • Search and download references from electronic databases and library catalogues.
  • Store downloaded PDFs with their relevant references.
  • Generate bibliographies in specific styles with the click of a button.
  • Share your library or group of references with your research colleagues.

Getting Started

In addition to the information contained in this library guide there are useful video tutorials and other resources available on the Clarivate EndNote Website. 

See the EndNote 21 Key Features as well as access the full EndNote 21 User Help Guide

How to get EndNote - WNHS Staff only

EndNote in WA Health

The WA Health Libraries Network (WAHLiN) has purchased a WA Health licence for EndNote and EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web). 

EndNote 21 is now on Windows 10 work PCs. EndNote X9.3 has limited availability on some remaining Windows 7 work PCs.

If EndNote is not currently available on your WNHS work computer log a job with Health Support Services.  

 

Download EndNote 21 now on your home computer from the appropriate tab above.

Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote 21 to Find Full Text. 

EndNote X9.3 and 21 are compatible across platforms - you can create your library on a MAC, save it as a compressed library on a USB then open it on a PC (and vice-versa).  

EndNote X9.3 and 21 are NOT backwards compatible with EndNote X9.2 and earlier versions so if you use your libraries at work and at home and have EndNote X9.2 or older at home, this will be a problem. You will need to upgrade older versions of EndNote to continue using your library in multiple locations. See here for further details.

 

WNHS staff download of EndNote 21 @home for Windows PC 

  1. EndNote 21 will only run on Windows 10, so if you have Windows 7 and don't wish to upgrade, please contact the library for EndNote X9.3 files. Minimum requirement for Word is 2010. For further details see EndNote compatibility requirements.
  2. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your PC. Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  3. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install the Cite-while-you-write toolbar into Word.
  4. Click on Windows PC Download for EndNote 21  > fill-in all boxes > click Submit to begin the download.
  5. Click on Open folder when prompted. 
  6. Right click compressed folder tools and select Extract All. Save onto the desktop or into the same folder.
  7. Click on the following file:  
  8. Follow the installation prompts using the default options UNTIL Select Install Type > choose Custom installation option.
  9. Continue accepting default options UNTIL Select Features.
  10. Click on red crosses next to Additional connections  Additional Filters   Additional Styles > select 'Entire feature will be installed on local hard drive' for each one.
  11. After this continue selecting the default options until the software install is completed. You can then delete both files from your desktop.
  12. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote 21 to Find Full Text .
  13. It is important to install updates as prompted.

 

WNHS staff download of EndNote 21 @home for Macs 

  1. Uninstall any previous versions of EndNote on your Mac Make sure all libraries, edited styles, filters or connectors stored within the EndNote program folders are saved on an external hard drive / USB prior to the uninstall.
  2. Ensure you have the most recent patches and updates installed for your version of Word. 
  3. Close Word if it is open so EndNote can install a Cite-While-You-Write toolbar into Word.
  4. Check compatibility requirements - must have macOS 10.14 or later and Word for macOS 2016 or later
  5. It is advisable to use the Firefox browser to install EndNote on a Mac and when exporting references from a database into EndNote.
  6. Click on Mac Download for EndNote 21 and complete the form to sign the licence agreement.
  7. Once you fill-in all boxes & click Submit the software will automatically begin to download creating a zipped file.
  8. Open the file. You will see a .dmg file & instruction PDF.
  9. Click on the .dmg file and a window will open with the .dmg file on one side & Applications folder on the other.
  10. Drag the .dmg to the Applications folder to install.
  11. Once downloaded you should Configure EndNote 21 to Find Full Text .
  12. It is important to install updates as prompted. 
  13. Check the CWYW toolbar in Word: Go to EndNote tab in Word > Preferences > Application > make sure EndNote (not EndNote Online) is showing

 

MacOS Critical Issues

See the following link for issues relating to different Mac Operating Systems

macOS Compatibility Guide

When using a Mac, it is advisable to use the Firefox web browser from Mozilla.
If you are trying to export references to EndNote on a Mac, the only reliable way to do this is by using Firefox.

Having trouble using Cite While You Write (CWYW) with Macs and Microsoft Word 2016 - check the troubleshooting guide

 

"Not compatible with Cite While You Write" error

Mac OS Mojave and higher versions include new Security & Privacy functions which can prevent EndNote (CWYW Cite While You Write) from being able to correctly automate.

More details and a fix are available via this EndNote support page.  See also the Research Software troubleshooting guide.

 

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote is the desktop version. EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) is the online version.

EndNote Online compliments your EndNote desktop library by enabling you to:

  • Work collaboratively and share your EndNote Library.
  • Access your EndNote library from multiple locations without making multiple copies of your library.

Find out more about EndNote Online!

Note: You must create a new online account for EndNote X9 even if you have an existing web account with a previous version of EndNote.