LibGuides: Research: Research Process

Research Data Management

Research Data Lifecycle by UK Data Service (1:40)

Data Management Tools

Covidence is an online platform designed to assist you to efficiently manage your literature review process. The software supports you through the planning, conducting, and reporting of your review online and enables easy collaboration with colleagues, both within and outside of your institution.

Covidence requires a subscription (not available at WNHS) - free for Cochrane authors. More information can be found here.

Free to download resources are available - click here

RevMan 5 Review Manager 5 (RevMan 5) is the software used for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews. Free for Cochrane authors.
EPPI-Reviewer 4 Software for all types of literature review, including systematic reviews, meta-analyses, 'narrative' reviews and meta-ethnographies. Cost involved - free for Cochrane authors.
DistillerSR Systematic review management software. Cost involved.
Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) AHRQ (US) tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data. Free and subject to Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial license.

Data Management Guides

Data citation and Identifiers (ANDS) Identifiers enable data, physical samples and software to be a citable part of the scholarly record.
Data management plans (ANDS) Data management planning is an essential component of delivering a successful research project. A DMP can help ensure that research data generated is well managed and can be reused efficiently.

Data Services

Data Linkage Western Australia: enabling health & medical research in WA "Data linkage is a technique for connecting pieces of information that are thought to relate to the same person, family, place or event"
Australian National Data Service (ANDS)

Research Education Program

The Research Education Program is an open access resource provided by the Child and Adolescent Health Service, Department of Research.

The Program provides valuable educational resources to support staff and students of any clinical discipline and level of experience to undertake high quality, meaningful research, including:

Research Governance

Research Governance Service (RGS) RGS is an information technology system which supports the research governance framework for conducting WA Health human research projects. The RGS is a centralised system for investigators, research group members and sponsors to complete, submit, manage and track their ethics and governance documentation through the lifecycle of their human research project. This includes approval/authorisation, monitoring and publication.
RGS Training Manual
WA Health Research Governance Framework The WA Health research governance framework governs the scientific, ethical and governance review, approval, conduct and monitoring of human research within WA public health organisations.

Research Ethics

RGS Research Ethics
National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (2007) - Updated 2018 Australian Government: National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research (2007) NHMRC and ARC
NHMRC Health and Research Ethics
NHMRC Australian Human Research Ethics Committee
Publishing and Sharing Sensitive Data - ANDS Guide

Research Funding and Grants

National Health and Medical Research Council NHMRC is Australia's leading expert body for supporting health and medical research.
2016 National Research Infrastructure Roadmap The 2016 National Research Infrastructure Roadmap identifies priority research infrastructure for the coming decade in nine areas that will underpin research in which Australia excels, to deliver long-term national benefit and foster strategic international partnerships.
Australian Research Council (ARC) The ARC is the primary source of advice to the Government on investment in the national research effort. The ARC: supports the highest quality research and research training through national competition in all fields of science, social sciences and the humanities; brokers partnerships between researchers and industry, government, community organisations and the international community.
ANDS Video : Supporting changes to the ARC funding rules
ARC - Guide to filling in the data management section in grant applications From February 2014 the Australian Research Council (ARC) application forms (Discovery; Linkage) have a short section where you are required to provide an outline of your data management plan.
Research Education & Training Program (RETProgram) West Australian Health Translation Network
Women & Infants Research Foundation Scholarships & Grants King Edward Memorial Hospital

Research Education Modules and Workshops

Research Education and Training Program (RETProgram) The Research Education and Training Program (RETProgram) is a program platform of the Western Australia Health Translation Network (WAHTN). The RETP is funded by WA Department of Health and has a remit to develop and deliver online research skills training topics.
Evidence Based Practice Guide KEMH Library guide to EBP
EndNote Guide KEMH Library guide to home download for WNHS staff and detailed instructions on use of this bibliographic software.

Reporting Guidelines and Standards

AGREE: Appraisal of Guidellines for Research and Evaluation Evaluates the process of practice guideline development and the quality of reporting. The original AGREE Instrument has been updated and methodologically refined. The AGREE II is now the new international tool for the assessment of practice guidelines.
EQUATER: Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research a comprehensive searchable database of reporting guidelines and links to other resources relevant to research reporting.
GRADE working group The Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (short GRADE) to address the shortcomings of grading systems in health care.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions Version 6 [updated 2019]
PRISMA: Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses Authors: PRISMA aims to help authors improve the reporting of systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Journal Peer reviewers and editors: PRISMA may also be useful for critical appraisal of published systematic reviews, although it is not a quality assessment instrument to gauge the quality of a systematic review.
PRISMA-P: PRISMA for systematic review protocols Checklist for systematic review protocols
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on Standards for Systematic Reviews of Comparative Effectiveness Research 2011
Australian Clinical Trial Handbook A simple, practical guide to the conduct of clinical trials to International standards of Good Clinical Practice (GCP) in the Australian context.
CONSORT: Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials Encompasses various initiatives developed by the CONSORT Group to alleviate the problems arising from inadequate reporting of randomized controlled trials.
SPIRIT (Standard Protocol Items: Recommendations for Inteventional Trials) An international initiative that aims to improve the quality of clinical trial protocols by defining an evidence-based set of items to address in a protocol.
CARE: CAse REport guidelines Reporting guidelines designed to increase the accuracy, transparency, and usefulness of case reports.
STROBE: Strengthening the Reporting of Observational Studies in Epidemiology Reporting checklists for cohort, case-control and cross-sectional studies
TREND: Transparent Reporting of Evaluations with Nonrandomized Designs Reporting standards for nonrandomized evaluations of behavioral and public health interventions.
SQUIRE 2.0: Revised Standards for Quality Improvement Reporting The SQUIRE guidelines are intended for reports that describe system level work to improve the quality, safety, and value of healthcare, and used methods to establish that observed outcomes were due to the intervention(s).
STORIES : STructured apprOch to the Reporting In healthcare education of Evidence Synthesis