LibGuides: Research: Maximise Your Impact

Build an Online Profile

Create a unique researcher / author ID to link all your research, facilitate discovery, avoid misidentification and enable you to track your research for grant applications. Use the following free tools:

ORCID: Open Researcher & Contributor ID Provides a persistent digital identifier for you as researcher. It helps with workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognised.
Google Scholar: My Citations Click My Citations to set up an account and collect all your publications appearing in Google Scholar into your account. Profiles can be private or public. It is strongly recommended that all citations be checked for accuracy.
GRID: Global Research Identifier Database Information about research organizations around the world to data scientists, developers and innovators within academic and commercial organizations. The GRID dataset addresses the problem of messy and inconsistent data on research institutions, ensuring that each entity is included correctly and only once.
International Standard Name Identifier (ISNI) ISNI is the ISO certified global standard number for identifying the millions of contributors to creative works and those active in their distribution, including researchers, inventors, writers, artists, visual creators, performers, producers, publishers, aggregators, and more. It is part of a family of international standard identifiers that includes identifiers of works, recordings, products and right holders in all repertoires
Publons (formerly ResearcherID) ResearcherID merged with Publons in 2019. Existing ResearcherID identifiers, publication lists and other data have been transferred to a Publons profile.

Join an Online Network

Academia.edu A study recently published in PLOS ONE found that papers uploaded to Academia receive a 69% boost in citations over 5 years.
ResearchGate Links researchers from around the world. Makes your research more visible.

Demonstrate Your Research Impact

Citation analysis

When applying for grant applications you may be asked to demonstrate your research impact via citation analysis (bibliometrics). Use Web of Science to create citation reports as a quantitative measure of impact - see Curtin University Library Guide. Other ways of counting citations:

Publish or Perish Software program developed to analyse citations in Google Scholar: Provides an interface to search Google Scholar and allows for the exclusion of irrelevant or erroneous results. Searches articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions etc. Retrieves material from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Provides links to view all citing articles.
Google Scholar Citations a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.
How to Track the Impact of Research Data with Metrics DCC: Digital Curation Centre

Many databases now contain citation tracking information for individual articles including ScienceDirect; Highwire Press; Cochrane; BioMed Central

Calculate your h-index

The h-index is a metric designed to measure the productivity and impact of a researcher's work. The h-index is defined by how many h of a researcher's (or group's) publications have each had at least h citations. So a h-index of 6 means that you have published 6 papers that have all been cited at least 6 times. You can use Publish or Perish or Google Scholar to calculate this for you. Or you can do so manually by locating citation counts for all published papers and ranking them numerically by the times cited in descending order (see below):

Altmetrics

Altmetrics track web usage as an alternative measure of research impact. This can include abstract views & downloads; blogs & media coverage; social media such as twitter; collections such as Zotero, Mendeley, CiteULike.