| What is PubMed? |
What is Medline? |
What is Embase? |
- Online version of Index Medicus produced by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Freely available on the Internet.
|
- The primary component of PubMed made available by NLM to commercial suppliers.
- Available by subscription through a number of interfaces. At KEMH we have the OVID interface.
|
- An Elsevier database.
- Available by subscription through a number of interfaces. At KEMH we have the OVID interface.
|
| Coverage of PubMed |
Coverage of Medline |
Coverage of Embase |
- Back to 1966 and selectively to 1809
- Contains over 33 million records. In addition to Medline, Pubmed contains:
- 'in process' citations
- some older citations
- citations to non-medical journals
- citations to ebooks
- Some free full text (PubMed Central) & 'Find it @ WNHS' links if accessed through library
- Subject coverage = medical, biomedical & life sciences
|
- Back to 1946
- Contains over 28 million records from 5,200 mainly US journals
- Some full text and 'Find it @ WNHS' links
- Subject coverage = life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine
- Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) which enhances search capability
|
- Back to 1947 and selectively to 1902.
- Contains over 30 million records from more than 8,100 peer-reviewed journals, in-press publications, and conferences, from at least 95 countries.
- Includes all of Medline plus over 2,900 extra titles (including more EU journals) and 3.6 million conference abstracts.
- Some full text and 'Find it @ WNHS' links.
- Subject coverage = Medline + drug & pharmacy journals.
- Records indexed using the Emtree thesaurus (86,000 terms including MeSH) for increased depth and breadth in searching
|
| Searching PubMed |
Searching Medline |
Searching Embase |
- Easy keyword searching and automatic mapping to MeSH terms.
- No subheading selection.
- Results may be limited to reviews and full text. 'Clinical Queries' allows searching for clinical trials, systematic reviews and medical genetics topics
|
- Advanced Search offers guided mapping of keywords to MeSH terms
- Search topics may be limited by selecting subheadings
- Various limiters, including EBM Reviews and types of clinical query.
|
- Advanced Search with guided mapping of keywords to Emtree terms.
- Basic 'natural language' search with synonym searching & relevance ranking.
- Subheadings include specific drug-related topics.
- Extensive limiting options available, including types of EBM, clinical trials & routes of drug administration.
|
| Other Features of PubMed |
Other Features of Medline |
Other Features of Embase |
- 'Related citations', including highlighting of review articles. Link from a particular result to systematic reviews referencing that study.
- Register with 'My NCBI' to save searches, set up alerts & customise filters
- Citations may be exported to EndNote.
|
- 'Find Similar' and 'Find Citing Articles'.
- Register to save searches, create email alerts & RSS feeds.
- Citations may be exported to EndNote.
|
- 'Find Similar' and 'Find Citing Articles'.
- Register to save searches, create email alerts & RSS feeds.
- Citations may be exported to EndNote.
|
| Use PubMed: |
Use Medline: |
Use Embase: |
- If you are unable to access subscription databases.
- For easy keyword searching (automatically maps to MeSH).
- For clinical queries.
- For genetics topics.
- To be offered related citations and links to systematic reviews citing a study.
|
- For guided MeSH subject searching.
- For extensive medical subheadings and other search limiting options.
|
- For guided Emtree subject searching (including MeSH).
- For great basic, natural language search.
- For drug/pharmacy topics (coverage plus subheading options)
- To pick up recent articles & conference papers.
- For extensive search limiting options.
|
