LibGuides: KEMH Medical Library: Health Statistics / Standards / Strategies / Legislation

Quick Links

Popular Databases

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window US National Library of Medicine.
PubMed (new interface) This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content.
Embase (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Biomedical and pharmaceutical literature.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window A premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association's citation database for behavioural science and mental health literature.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Systematic reviews and controlled trials.
GoogleScholar This link opens in a new window Click on Find it@WNHS link for full text. If link not visible click on the >> icon

Health Statistics, Standards, Legislation & Strategies

Health Statistics

Department of Health: Reports & Publications Most recent WA Health reports including those listed below.
WA Mothers and Babies summary information 2018
Reports on induced abortions in Western Australia
Perinatal and infant mortality in Western Australia - dashboard A series of dashboards provides figures, tables, and statistical analysis of perinatal and infant mortality in Western Australia from cases reviewed by the Perinatal and Infant Mortality Committee.
Perinatal, infant and maternal mortality cohort
Aboriginal sexual health reports
WA Register of Developmental Anomalies: Reports
Cervical Screening Registry (CSR) of Western Australia

National Perinatal Epidemiology and Statistics Unit (Australia) Perinatal, congenital anomalies, maternal deaths, thematic and developmental statistics.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
National Core Maternity Indicators This AIHW web portal provides data displays and clinical commentary for 12 National Core Maternity Indicators, including the most up to date information from 2013.
Australia's mothers and babies 2015—in brief
Australia's Health 2016
Indigenous Australians: Reports
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Performance Framework 2020 report: Western Australia
Family, domestic and sexual violence in Australia, 2018

Health Standards

NSQHS Standards 2017 (2nd edition) Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard 2020 Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS Heavy Menstrual Bleeding Clinical Care Standard 2017 Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS Delirium Clinical Care Standard 2021 Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS User Guide for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health 2017 Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS User Guide for Measuring and Evaluating Partnering with Consumers 2018 Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
HACs Information Kit Hospital-acquired complications information kit from the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
NSQHS Standards Live Literature Searches Automatic PubMed searches that provide updated results for topics aligned to the Australian National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards. Developed by Health Libraries for the National Standards Research Project (HeLiNS).

The new ACORN Standards 2023 Online viewing only - you can't print or download these standards
ACORN surgical hand antisepsis, gowning and gloving video

Australian College of Midwives Standards

Australian Standards for Neonatal Nurses PDF: 4th edition, 2019

SAI Global Standards Australia Full text of Australian standards. Single user licence for all of WA Health so please log out when you have finished using the site.

** Update** SAI Global now requires an individual user registration to download a standard. Follow the registration prompts. If you can't find the registration emails that are sent to you, try looking in your junk email folder.

** Please log out when you are finished **

Need more help? Step by step instructions for SAI Global

Acts, Regulations & Legislation

Australasian Legal Information Institute (AUSTLII)

Australian Medico-Legal Handbook (Stewart)

Federal Register of Legislation The Federal Register of Legislation is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them.

GovPubs Australian Government Publications Guide is a guide to selected types of Australian government publications, such as Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers, located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet.

WA State Law Publisher From 1 July 2004, free online access is available for all legislation, regulations, gazettes, etc.

WA Health Strategies

Western Australian Women's Health Strategy 2013-2017

WA Aboriginal Health and Wellbeing Framework 2015-2030
more...less...
Also see the Aboriginal Health Information page under the eLibrary tab.

National Health Strategies

AIHW Australian Institute of Health and Welfare Authoritative and accessible information and statistics to inform and support better policy and service delivery decisions, leading to better health and wellbeing for all Australians

National Drug Strategy

As of 30 June 2006 the National Public Health Partnership (NPHP) was replaced with the Australian Health Protection Committee (AHPC) and the Australian Population Health Development Principal Committee (APHDPC), two Principal Committees of the Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council (AHMAC).

The NPHP website provides a historical record of the projects undertaken by the NPHP and is no longer updated.

Need help finding statistics?

Watch our short videos on:

How do I find health statistics?

How do I search ABS?