LibGuides: KEMH Medical Library: Databases & Point of Care Tools

Quick Links

Popular Databases

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window US National Library of Medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content.
Embase (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Biomedical and pharmaceutical literature.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window A premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association's citation database for behavioural science and mental health literature.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Systematic reviews and controlled trials.
GoogleScholar This link opens in a new window Click on Find it@WNHS link for full text. If link not visible click on the >> icon

Access from Home or Other Sites

WNHS staff with KEMH on-site computer log-in can access the Library's online resources off-site using the same log-in.

If your on-site access is not working, please contact HSS.
If your access off-site is not working please see How to Request EzProxy Access

WNHS staff located at another site, and staff from other WA Health sites temporarily working at KEMH will need to apply for EzProxy access - please see How to Request EzProxy Access

Or contact the Library: 6458 1499 KEMH.Library@health.wa.gov.au

Research Databases

Jump to:

A | B | C | D | E | G | H | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W | Y

A

Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window A dynamic interactive multi-media overview of human anatomy - from head to toe! This interactive resource contains more than 20 learning and teaching modules covering basic human anatomy and focusing on one or more areas of the body. Also includes a study guide and test bank
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Formerly known as PsycInfo
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new window

B Back to Top

B

BestBETs This link opens in a new window BETs were developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
Best Practice (BMJ) This link opens in a new window Best current evidence with expert guidance. Continuously updated, unrivalled breadth & depth of coverage.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window Original research titles are free access, review titles require a subscription.
BMJ Case Reports This link opens in a new window Full-text access to more than 15,000 peer-reviewed case reports from over 70 countries. To publish in this journal see the BMJ Case Reports tab under Find Articles on the Home page
BMJ Journals Online This link opens in a new window

C Back to Top

C

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window A searchable collection of all Elsevier content (900+ books, 500+ journals, etc). ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Systematic reviews and controlled trials.

D

Diagnostic Imaging Pathways (WA) This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DiTA - Diagnostic Test Accuracy (in physiotherapy) This link opens in a new window DiTA is the Diagnostic Test Accuracy database, a free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice.

E

Embase (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Biomedical and pharmaceutical literature.
Emcare (Ovid) This link opens in a new window A premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education
ERIC This link opens in a new window US Education Resources Information Center.

G

GoogleScholar This link opens in a new window Click on Find it@WNHS link for full text. If link not visible click on the >> icon

H

HealthPathways WA This link opens in a new window A GP-focused resource but useful for clinicians to understand the scope of GP practice in relation to various health conditions. It includes details on Assessment, Management and if needed Referral pathways for patient care.

J Back to Top

J

JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
American Medical Association Journals and Archives
JBI: Joanna Briggs Institute (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Midwifery, Nursing & Allied Health EBP database.

LBack to Top

L

LactMed This link opens in a new window Drugs and Lactation Database - US National Library of Medicine. No longer available through TOXNET (Retired Dec 2019). Now available through NCBI.
LISTA This link opens in a new window Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.
Longwoods Journals This link opens in a new window Canadian publisher. Includes Healthcare Quarterly; Healthcare Papers; Healthcare Policy; World Health & Population and Nursing Leadership.

M

HalesMeds This link opens in a new window
previously Medications and Mothers Milk
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window US National Library of Medicine.

N

National Cancer Institute This link opens in a new window US National Institutes of Health
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) This link opens in a new window Formerly CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research
NHS Evidence This link opens in a new window A search tool for, but not limited to, evidence gaps Closing in March 2022

O

Open Grey This link opens in a new window open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe
OTseeker This link opens in a new window Abstracts of systematic reviews, RCT & other critically appraised resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

P

PEDro This link opens in a new window Physiotherapy Evidence Database.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window Includes evidence-based resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute (Evidence Summaries, Systematic Reviews & Best Practice Information Sheets).
ProQuest Nursing Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association's citation database for behavioural science and mental health literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window a free (open source) full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

R

RehabData This link opens in a new window US National Rehabilitation Information Center.

S

SAI Global Standards Australia This link opens in a new window Full text of Australian standards. Single user licence for all of WA Health so please log out when you have finished using the site.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Springer This link opens in a new window Medical, Biomedical and Behavioural Science Journals

T

Therapeutic Guidelines (ETG) This link opens in a new window Includes: Analgesic, Antibiotic, Cardiovascular, Dermatology, Endocrinology, Gastrointestinal, Neurology, Palliative Care, Psychotropic, Respiratory, Rheumatology, Toxicology & Wilderness, Ulcer and Wound Management, Drug use in pregnancy and breastfeeding, Fatigue: Diagnostic Approach in Primary Care.
Toxnet This link opens in a new window **NOTE** As of December 2019, TOXNET (TOXicology data NETwork) has been retired. Click on the link to see where the content is now available.
TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window A meta-search engine that searches across sites of high-quality clinical information.

Trove National Library of Australia

U

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A decision support tool for clinicians that is frequently updated.

W

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection (1997-present). Fully indexed and searchable citations from 18,000+ journals across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Search for authors and author affiliations. Track citation activity.

Y

Your Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window

More about UpToDate

UpToDate

If you wish to access UpToDate via the mobile app, or any work or home browser, you must first register to get a personal account. To do this, go to UpToDate from the Library website and click on Register (top right).

To maintain access, you must re-verify your organisational affiliation every 90 days by logging into UpToDate via the Library website.