Skip to main content
Banner Image
WNHS Internet |   WNHS Hub |  HealthPoint |   WA Health Library Sites
Contact Us!

Journal Alerts for Women and Newborn Health: JournalTOCs

This guide provides links to the most recent journal literature on topics relevant to Women and Newborn Health.

How to use JournalTOCs

 

Do you want to keep up with the most recent articles from your favourite journals?  

 

The KEMH Library has subscribed to JournalTOCs, a current awareness service that lets you create a personalised list of journals to follow, allowing you to view the latest tables of contents and receive email alerts as new articles are published.  

Our JournalTOCs Premium subscription includes approximately 730 journals for which KEMH has full-text access.  In addition to KEMH’s full-text journals, you can also view titles and tables of contents for over 30,000 journals in the JournalTOCs system.

By registering for the service with the KEMH Library you’ll be able to build a personal list of journals for which you’ll receive the latest tables of contents. You can view the tables of contents within your JournalTOCs account or receive email alerts as soon as they’re published electronically.  If the Library has a subscription to the journal you're following, the links you receive in your email will, in most cases, take you through to the full text.

For more information or to register for the service simply Contact Us. You can let us know which journals you want to follow and we will set up alerts for you. Alternatively, you can ask us to suggest journals within your area of interest.

Once registered, you can select more journals to follow or manage your alerts through a simple process. See further instructions on the remaining tabs.  

As part of the registration process, the KEMH Library will set up email alerts for your favourite journals or will suggest journals for you to follow. Once registered you can select the journals you wish to follow and manage your email alerts. To select a journal you can search by title or subject, or you can browse a specific list of journals.


1. Search for journals by the title of the journal.

  • Click on Search, then select the Journals tab. 
  • Enter the journal title (e.g. Anesthesiology) and click Go.

.  

Note that all journals that include the search term in their title will be displayed.

  • Click on the checkbox to follow the required journal(s) - this will set up email alerts for those journals. 

  • Click on the journal title to view the latest Table of Contents for that journal.

Journals with a  are KEMH subscribed journals. In most cases you will be able to link to the full text of articles in the Table of Contents of these journals. 


 2. Search for journals by subject.

  • Click on Search, then select the Journals tab. 
  • Click on the drop-down arrow next to Title and select Subject from the list.
  • Enter a subject (e.g. Obstetrics) and click Go.

 

  • Click on the checkbox to follow the required journal(s) - this will set up email alerts for those journals. 

 

 

  • Click on the journal title to view the latest Table of Contents for that journal.

 

Journals with a  are freely available Open Access journals. In most cases you will be able to link to the full text of articles in the Table of Contents of these journals.  

See Browse journals tab above for instructions on how to browse for journals by topic .

How do I browse for journals by topic?

 

  •  Click on Browse and then select Subjects from the drop-down menu

 

A list of subjects is displayed indicating the number of KEMH subscribed journals and total number of JournalTOCs journals for each subject.

  • Scroll down to select the required Subject e.g. Medical Sciences

 

 

 

A list of fields within the subject of Medical Sciences is displayed.

  • Scroll down to select the required sub-heading e.g. Obstetrics and Gynecology

 

 

Note: There are 73 Obstetrics and Gynecology journals within JournalTOcs 

 

A list of Obstetrics and Gynecology journals is displayed.

  • Click on the checkbox to follow the required journal(s) - this will set up email alerts for those journals.
  • Click on the journal title to view the latest Table of Contents for that journal.

 

 

Journals with a  are KEMH subscribed journals. In most cases you will be able to link to the full text of articles in the Table of Contents of these journals. 

Note: The number of people worldwide who are following each journal is indicated e.g. 112 people are following the American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. 

Loading ...

Registering for JournalTOCs Alerts

How do I register for the JournalTOCs service?

To register for JournalTOCs simply Contact Us indicating any journals you wish to follow. Alternatively, you can ask us to suggest journals within your area of interest. 

If you wish to receive email alerts at a non-WA Health email address this can be arranged. When registering for the service please indicate your preferred email address.

How do I change my password?

You can change your password and manage your account through the Account Settings menu.

  • Once you have signed in you will see your name displayed in the top right hand corner of the screen.
  • Click on your name and select Account Settings
  • On the Account Settings page you need to enter your current password and new password as instructed.

Note: On the Account settings page you also have the option to change the frequency of your email alerts (see tab above) or to deactivate alerts if required.

How do I change the frequency of my email alerts?

Once you select the journals you wish to follow you will automatically receive alerts for these journals.

The default frequency is Weekly email alerts; however, you can change this frequency or turn off email alerts altogether.

  • Once you have signed in to JournalTOCs you will see your name displayed in the top right hand corner of the screen.
  • Click on your name and select Account Settings
  • On the Account Settings page you can select Daily, Weekly or Monthly email alerts. You can also opt to temporarily deactivate your email alerts.
  • Click Save

Library Bookmarklet for Computers & Laptops

Occasionally the emailed links may not take you to full text articles, even if the Library subscribes to the journal.  In this case you can use a bookmarklet to link you to the full text without having to go through the Library website.  The Library bookmarklet identifies you as a valid WNHS Library user (scroll down for instructions for iOS devices).

Step 1: Set-up the bookmarlet 

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer

  • Right click on this link: WNHS Library Proxy Bookmarklet 
  • Select Add to Favorites
  • If the security alert states "You are adding a favorite that may not be safe. Do you want to continue?" click Yes.

Firefox

Safari

 

Step 2: Use the bookmarklet

  • When you want to download full text from a journal website that requires a subscribtion, click on the WNHS Library Proxy Bookmarklet in your Favourites.
  • This will add an authentication string to the web address which will enable you to link to the full text if the WNHS Library has a subscription to the journal.
  • If you are not on a WNHS computer, you will be asked to log-in with your HE number & WNHS password.
  • This will work for most journals. Occasionally authentication is more complex & you will need to go through the Library website.
Loading ...