LibGuides: Parent Education: Home

Library books

The Birth partner's : quick reference guide and planner by Penny Simkin
Call Number: WQ 300 SIM

ISBN: 9781558329775

Publication Date: 2020

The Birth Partner is a convenient and easy-to-use book that provides facts on the fly during the ultra-busy period before, during, and after labor and birth.
Double happiness multiplied : what you need to know about having twins, triplets, & quads by Sally Barker
Call Number: WQ 235 BAR

ISBN: 9781925830606

Publication Date: 2019

Double Happiness Multiplied is the go-to book for all your answers about carrying and caring for your babies.
HypnoBirthing : for a safer, easier, more comfortable birth by Marie Mongan
Call Number: WS 152 MON

ISBN: 9781788166225

Publication Date: 2020

No one can truly understand what it's like to give birth until you experience it but HypnoBirthing gives you the tools and knowledge to approach labour with confidence.
Let's talk about the first year of parenting by Amy Brown
Call Number: WS 103 BRO

ISBN: 9781780667102

Publication Date: 2021

Becoming a parent is about so much more than just taking care of a baby.

Resources

Being a dad : emotional wellbeing when you have a new baby
Being a mum : emotional wellbeing when you have a new baby
Breastfeeding : strong mums strong babies This booklet is from the Get up and Grow Series. This Get Up & Grow booklet provides information to parents and carers of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children about breastfeeding.
First 1000 Days: resources for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander parents (Raisingchildren) includes pages on the following topics : Baby growing well in the first year: Washing newborn babies Breastfeeding is best Healthy food for everyday Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander dads
First foods This Get Up & Grow booklet provides information to parents and carers of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children about introducing solid foods to babies aged about 6 months.
Keeping bub safe : reducing the risk of SIDS and sleep accidents in Aboriginal communities Designed for babies 0-12 months, our brochure Keeping Bub Safe has been developed by Aboriginal families as a specific Indigenous resource to help families know how to sleep their baby safely to reduce the risk of sudden infant death.
My journey : 9 months from conception to birth (Australasian Diabetes in Pregnancy Society)

Australian Breastfeeding Association Access to breastfeeding support has never been more convenient.
Bright tomorrows start today (Telethon Kids Institute) A baby’s brain is a remarkable little creature forming more than a million neural connections every second when activated.
Feed Safe Can I have an occasional drink while I'm breastfeeding? Should I 'pump and dump'? How does alcohol affect breastmilk? How long should I wait after having a drink, before breastfeeding? Feed Safe is a collaboration between the Australian Breastfeeding Association, Reach Health Promotion Innovations and Curtin University.
MindMum App Being pregnant and having a baby are big life changes. As well as excitement and joy, it’s common to have mixed emotions: uncertainty, and even worry and sadness. The MindMum App is designed to assist expectant and new mothers with the emotional challenges that this time of life often brings.
Mind the bump (Smiling Minds) Mind the Bump is a free Mindfulness Meditation App to help individuals and couples support their mental and emotional wellbeing in preparation for having a baby and becoming a new parent.
MyAus COVID-19 The Migration Council Australia (MCA) has developed a multilingual resource for Australia’s culturally and linguistically diverse communities about COVID-19, its impact and available support.
My Baby WA app
My QuitBuddy app (Australian Government) Quitting smoking can be difficult but My QuitBuddy is here to help you every step of the way. Designed to deliver you support in a way best suited to you, for you to get quit and stay smoke-free.
Sunsmart he free SunSmart app tells you when sun protection is recommended for your location using forecast information from the Bureau of Meteorology website and live UV data from ARPANSA.

Hepatitis B - Refer to your Pregnancy, Birth and Your Baby book pages 70-71
Newborn hearing screening program (PCH) The WA Newborn Hearing Screening Program provides a free hearing screen for all newborn babies at public, private, metropolitan and regional maternity services across Western Australia.
Vitamin K for newborn babies (NHMRC) Vitamin K helps blood to clot. It is essential to prevent serious bleeding. Without vitamin K, they are at risk of getting a rare disorder called Vitamin K Deficiency Bleeding.
Your newborn screening program (Healthy WA) All newborn babies in Western Australia undergo a blood screening test in the first few days of their life, which is provided free of charge.

Antenatal expression of colostrum (ABA)
Baby feeding cues (signs)
Breastfeeding: expressing and storing breastmilk (WA Health)
Breastfeeding Centre of WA (KEMH)
Hand expressing technique (QLD Government)
Medicines information in pregnancy and breastfeeding - helpline (KEMH)
Newborns : breastfeeding (0-3 months) (Raisingchildren)
PREM milk bank: collection and storage of breastmilk (CAHS) The PREM Bank cannot use donated milk that has been contaminated in any way. One of the most important factors in safe handling and storage of human milk is routine hand washing. Careful attention to hand hygiene decreases the risk of contamination of pumps, pump parts, storage containers and expressed milk.
PREM milk bank : overview (KEMH) Sometimes mothers have difficulty producing enough milk while others are producing more milk than their own infant requires.
Refer to your Pregnancy, Birth and your Baby book Chapter 7 (KEMH) Refer to Chapter 7 - Breastfeeding
Ten steps to successful breastfeeding (KEMH)

Child development 0–3 months
Child development 3–6 months
Child development 6–9 months
Child development 9–12 months
General movement assessment (CAHS) All babies move spontaneously. There is a type of spontaneous movement that young babies make called ‘general movements’. These general movements develop and change as the babies get older. By carefully looking at the general movements, we get more information about your baby’s future development.

8 Simple steps to keep yourself safe during your hospital stay
Coming to KEMH - finding your way King Edward Memorial Hospital’s (KEMH) main entrance is located on Bagot Road, Subiaco.
KEMH Map
Refer to your Pregnancy, Birth & Baby book pages 53 -55
What you need to know while in hospital (Healthy WA) Information for patients, families and carers.

Advice for breastfeeding and pregnant women on COVID-19 (The Royal Women's Hospital)
COVID-19 (Healthy WA)
COVID-19 24/7 Parenting : proven tips and activities for all ages in worldwide language (World Health Organisation) Parenting for Lifelong Health provides open-access online parenting resources during COVID-19.
COVID-19 general information (KEMH) Thank you for your patience and understanding. Due to the current four-day lockdown we have made some changes to visiting.
COVID-19: Visiting and staying at PCH If you want to explain Coronavirus to a young child this is an excellent resource.
Is it safe to provide milk for my NICU baby if I have or have been exposed to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)?

8 key labor positions proven to help labor progress (Lamaze) Lamaze suggests these 8 labor positions to help you progress through labor. Practice these positions at home with your birth partner and bring this sheet with you on the big day as a reminder of how you can keep moving!
9 Guidelines to help you be the best birth partner (Lamaze)
Epidurals for childbirth (Healthy WA)
Labour and birth using water (Healthy WA) You may be considering using a bath or birth pool for pain relief during the first stage of your labour or having a waterbirth. This information is designed to help you make an informed choice for you and your baby.
Lamaze healthy birth practices The Lamaze Healthy Birth Practices are the foundation of Lamaze. These practices are designed based on years of research to simplify your birth process with an informed approach that helps alleviate your fears and manage pain.
Perineal massage (KEMH Physiotherapy)
Pregnancy, birth and your baby induction of labour (pg 46-51)
Refer to your Pregnancy, Birth and your baby book chapter 5 pages 52-66
Stages of labour (Royal Women's Hospital) Understanding the stages of birth can help you know what is happening during your labour.

Free Labour Confidence course Enrol for the course on the right side of the screen and this will give you access to the free Labour with Confidence course. Please note : Not all Lamaze classes are free

Baby play: birth to 18 months (PCH)
Better Beginnings at Home (State Library of WA) Better Beginnings is a Western Australian family literacy program that connects families with books through free reading packs. Our goal is to inspire a love of literacy and learning for all W.A. children by encouraging families to read, talk, sing, write and play with their child every day.
Looking after your baby's skin (PCH) This information sheet explains why your baby’s skin needs special care to reduce the chance of developing a pressure injury (pressure ulcer) or a breakdown in the skin surface.
Music, songs and movement (PCH)
Raising Children Network Newborns (0-3 months)
Refer to your Pregnancy, Birth & Baby book Chapter 6
Talking, reading and playing (PCH)
Talking together : its about talking with your baby (WA Health)
Tired signs and cues (Ngala) Your newborn baby may be tired after just one hour of being awake. Generally, babies under three months of age will be awake for only one to one and a half hours at a time.

How I used mindfulness during my difficult pregnancy (Headspace.com)
Smiling mind Mindfulness is paying attention to the present moment with openness, curiosity and without judgement.

Breastfeeding Confidence Breastfeeding Confidence is a quick guide on the essentials of breastfeeding. The guide is available in the following languages: (Amharic), (Arabic), (Assyrian), (Burmese), (Chinese), (Croatian), (Dari), (Dinka), (Farsi), (Hindi), (Karen), (Tamil), (Vietnamese).
Epidural Information (The Royal Women's Hospital) The information sheet is available in the following languages (Arabic), (Assyrian), (Chinese), (Hindi), (Somali), (Spanish), (Turkish), (Vietnamese)
Having a baby (NSW Health) A guide to pregnancy and childbirth. The book is available in the following languages: (Arabic), (Chinese Traditional), (Khmer), (Bengali), (Korean), (Vietnamese), (Chinese Simplified), (Dari), (Japanese), (Farsi), (Hindi), (Nepalese), (Punjabi), (Somali), (Tamil), (Swahili), (Thai), (Turkish), (Urdu).
Healthy eating for pregnancy : in pictures Healthy eating for pregnancy is available in the following languages: (Arabic), (Dari), (Dinka), (Hakha Chin), (Karen), (Persian), (Simplified Chinese), Swahili), (Tamil), (Vietnamese).
Vitamin K for newborn babies (NHMRC) This brochure for parents provides straightforward information and advice on the importance of all newborn babies to receiving vitamin K. The brochure is available in the following languages: (Arabic), (Greek), (Italian), (Simplified Chinese), (Traditional Chinese), (Vietnamese).
Your baby’s newborn bloodspot screening test (Healthy WA) All babies are checked at birth to see that all is well and newborn bloodspot screening is part of these routine health checks. The brochure is available in the following languages: (Arabic), (Burmese), (Chinese), (Dari), (Hindi), (Indonesian), (Persian), (Thai), (Vietnamese).

Breastfeeding twins (Australian Breastfeeding Association)
Multiple Birth Association of WA The Multiple Birth Association of Western Australia (Inc) was formed in May 1974 as the “Twins Plus Club of WA” by a group of mothers who felt the need for the companionship and sharing of experiences with other parents of multiple birth children.
Pregnant with twins (Raising Children)
Raising twins : Pregnancy birth & baby Once your twins arrive, you’ll be busy looking after looking after them.
Twin Research Australia Twins Research Australia brings twins and researchers together for vital health research that benefits everyone.
What to expect when you're expecting multiples (Australian Multiple Birth Association

Going home with your premature baby (Raising Children) It’s normal to feel a mix of excitement and nervousness when it’s time to take your premature baby home from hospital. It can help to be prepared before the big day arrives.
Inflight infant care (PCH) Preterm babies born less than 35 weeks gestation are at risk of hypoxia (low blood oxygen levels) inflight. If you baby requires oxygen therapy during the flight home, they will also need oxygen for any other flights until three (3) months after their expected due date. This fact sheet provides information on how to care for your baby and administer oxygen inflight. You will also receive hands on education from our nursing staff prior to discharge.
Is it safe to provide milk for my NICU baby if I have or have been exposed to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)? (PCH)
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (PCH) PCH’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) provides intensive and high dependency care for the sickest babies and infants. We develop and share clinical guidelines and shared medical and nursing staff with the NICU at King Edward Memorial Hospital.
Premature babies (Raising Children.net.au) Links to articles and pamphlets on premature babies
To view a virtual tour of the NICU facilities available at KEMH please click on the Hospital Tours area below

After your epidural or spinal block (KEMH)
Epidurals for childbirth
Managing pain in labour (The Royal Women's Hospital) There are a number of natural and medical methods you can use to manage your labour pain.
Refer to your Pregnancy birth and your Baby book refer to pages 60-62

Bright tomorrows start today (Telethon Kids Institute)
Coping skills (resilience)
Emotional health and wellbeing (Beyondblue) Emotional health is a state of wellbeing. Just as there are many benefits from being physically healthy, you, your partner and your baby can all benefit from being emotionally healthy.
Finding help before and after baby arrives (KEMH) This resource provides a list of general and mental health resources for families during pregnancy and after the birth of a baby
Money Smart
New baby : preparing your other children (Raising Children)
The new mother : taking care of yourself after birth (Children's Hospital of Philadelphia) The postpartum period begins after the delivery of the baby and ends when the mother's body has nearly returned to its pre-pregnant state. This period usually lasts six to eight weeks.
Ngala stays (Ngala) As a family are you seeking support to understand more about your child’s development, are you keen to understand more about sleeping, settling and feeding as well as following your baby’s cues . Then a Ngala Day Stay service may be what you are looking for- Read our Day Stay Guide for the full experience of the stay.
Postnatal anxiety and depression : what dads and mums need to know (KEMH)
Pregnancy and new parents : becoming a parent: what to expect (Beyond Blue) Everyone experiences a wide range of reactions to becoming a parent, from excitement to ‘is this really happening!?’ And that's all totally normal – there's lots to figure out before the baby arrives, and it can be a pretty stressful time.
Sex and Intimacy (Ngala) Parenting can put a lot of pressure on your relationship, including your sex life. One of the most difficult challenges parents face is learning how to make room for their own relationship once baby has arrived.
Toddler and the new baby (Pregnancy birth & baby) Having a second child is often much easier than the first – no fears of the unknown or doubts about how to take care of your baby. But along with this confidence comes a new set of challenges.

See the WNHL Library Physiotherapy page for physiotherapy videos and other resources

Baby positions (Spinning babies)
Having a baby in WA - your care options (KEMH)
Immunisation in pregnancy (Healthy WA)
Safe sleep in pregnancy (Still Aware)
Smoking and pregnancy If you’re pregnant, the safest option is to not smoke at all. The chemicals in tobacco smoke affect an unborn baby's development and may have lifelong effects.
Spinning babies Use this site and videos to improve fetal position (breech, transverse, posterior) and birth.
Tests for your baby during pregnancy (Healthy WA) Different types of tests are available during pregnancy to check the health of your baby.
What to expect during pregnancy (Beyond Blue) So, you’re having a baby? Congratulations! In just a few short months, life as you know it will never be the same again.
Your baby's movements matter (Stillbirth Alliance) It is important that this information be shared with partners, family and friends so that they too can understand the importance of fetal movements.

Co-sleeping (Rednose) Co-sleeping is when parents bring their babies into bed with them to sleep. It is important for you to know how to do it safely, as there are some circumstances where co-sleeping with your baby can be dangerous. This guide can help
Safe infant sleeping (KEMH)
Safe infant sleeping (Rednose)
Sleep: children 0-6 years (Parenting SA) Sleep is important for everyone’s health and wellbeing. If things aren’t working as well as you would like, this information may help.

NICU virtual tour

Click on the play button to start the video

E-books

Pregnancy, birth and your baby (KEMH) by Women and Newborn Health Service
Call Number: WQ 150 PRE
Publication Date: Feb 2023

Finding help before and after baby arrives (KEMH) 2024

Websites

Australian Breastfeeding Association (ABA)

Beyond Blue

Breastfeeding Centre of WA The Breastfeeding Centre of WA provides breastfeeding information and support for families in Western Australia.

Healthy WA

Kidsafe WA

Ngala

Perth Children's Hospital

Raising Children Network

Women & Newborn Health Library

Contact the Library

Hours: 9:00am - 12:00pm and 1:00pm - 3:00pm Monday to Friday

Email: kemh.hl@health.wa.gov.au

Ph: (08) 6458 1100

Fax: (08) 6458 1124

Location: Main Corridor, Ground Floor, A Block, King Edward Memorial Hospital, 374 Bagot Road, Subiaco, W.A. 6008

Postal Address: 374 Bagot Road, Subiaco, W.A. 6008

Parent Education: Home

About Parent Education

Library books

Resources

NICU virtual tour

E-books

Websites

Contact the Library