LibGuides: EndNote: 2. Working with bibliographies

Managing Your Bibliography

Formatting your bibliography

To change the default output (reference) style:

Click on the arrow in the Style box in EndNote or Word.

EndNote

Word

Choose Select Another Style if the style you require is not initially listed.
Highlight the required style and click Choose.

You can also use the Format Bibliography function to select the output style, as well as change the font and layout of the Bibliography.

Select the Format icon in EndNote

or click on the bottom corner arrow in Word

This will bring up a tabulated box that also allows you to change the font & layout under the Layout tab.

If your citation is unformatted it will appear in curly brackets with a # e.g. {Buffet, 2009#345} and no bibliography will show.

To format your citations select the Update Citations and Bibliography option in Word

Create a stand alone bibliography

You can use your EndNote library to create a bibliography without using the CWYW functionality:

In EndNote select all the references you want to include in your bibliography (use the Ctrl keyto select more than one).
Choose the reference style from the Style drop down menu.
Go to Edit > Copy Formatted.
Open a new Word document.
Go to Edit > Paste.

Create a bibliography in sections

When using CWYW, a single bibliography is automatically created at the end of the document. APA 5th (sections), APA 6th (sections) & Chicago 15th B (sections) will automatically create a separate bibliography at the end of each section as well. To create a biblography at the end of each section in all other styles you need to make a copy and modify it.

1. Go to EndNote > Edit > Output Style > Edit"your chosen style". If the style you want is not available as Edit "_ " choose Open Style Manager > highlight the style > Edit.

2. Click on Sections in the left panel.

3. Choose Create a bibliography for each section OR Create a bibliography for each section and a complete bibliography at the end of the document.

4. Go File > Save as > save as a copy or renamed file.

If you experience difficulties saving your copy see the Note in Downloading output styles (on the right) or the EndNote FAQ: Problems saving styles

Working with large documents

The easiest way to work with EndNote and large documents such as theses is to keep each chapter as a separate Word document and only combine them at the end.

To combine separate chapters:

1. Make and save a copy of each chapter e.g. chapter1_copy.doc; chapter2_copy.doc etc. so that the originals remain unchanged.

2. Work with the copies and unformat citations:

Open each chapter and from the EndNote toolbar in Word select Convert Citations & Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations).
This will remove the bibliography at the end of each chapter & change the in-text citations to their unformatted form e.g. {Singh, 2009#345}.
Save these changes.

3. Combine the chapters:

Open chapter1_copy.doc. Then open chapter2_copy.doc and select the whole document (Ctrl+A). Copy and paste it at the end of chapter1_copy.doc.
Continue copying & pasting each chapter at the end of chapter1_copy.doc until the whole thesis is in one document.
Rename chapter1_copy.doc as thesis_master.doc. This is now the master copy and any subsequent changes should be made to this document.
Save this document.

4. Format citations in the thesis:

Open thesis_master.doc.
From the EndNote toolbar in Word select the Instant Formatting is OFF > Turn Instant Formatting On
Click Update Citations & Bibliography.
EndNote will format all the references in your document to create a single bibliography at the end.
Save the changes.

Downloading referencing output styles

If the required reference style is not available in EndNote's output styles you will need to download it from the EndNote styles webpage :

Click on Download for the required style > Open
The style file will open in EndNote.
In EndNote go to File > Save As > remove the word copy > Save.
Click the second small black cross to close OR File > Close style.

To locate your downloaded style:

EndNote > Style drop down menu
If not there click on Select Another Style > Choose a style

MAC users – Click on your required style and locate it in your "Downloads". Then drag an drop it into your Styles folder at HD\Applications\EndNoteX8\Styles.

If you experience problems when trying to save your edited style see the EndNote FAQ: Problems saving styles

Note: If you are having problems with existing styles in EndNote you may need to update these files. Simply follow the directions above for the problem style files - removing the word 'copy' will ensure that the updated file overwrites the older version.

Resolving incorrect capitalisation

You might find that although you have entered or imported the journal title correctly in a reference in your EndNote library, it appears differently (e.g. not correctly capitalised) in the document bibliography.This is a result of the journals term list of the reference style you are using. Here are a couple of ways to resolve this problem.

1. Using a reference style that doesn't require journal abbreviations (e.g. APA 6th):

Click on Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
Highlight the style you are using
Click Edit.
When the edit window opens click on Jounal Names on the left hand side.

The above screen will appear.
Select Don't Replace - EndNote will ignore the journals term list & use whatever appears in the journal field of the references.
Close the window (the second x) and save as a copy. You will need to select this copy of the style. In EndNote use the Style drop down menu. If it does not appear click Select Another Style > and choose your style.

Note: You need to check the formatting of the journal title of all imported references since they will now be displayed in the bibliography exactly as they appear in your EndNote library.

2. Using a reference style that requires journal abbreviations (e.g. Vancouver):

Delete the existing journals term list.
Import the Medical journals list.
See Vancouver and Term Lists for instructions.